Tag Archive 2019微信群二维码

Town Councils must drive enterprise, employment – President

admin no comments

first_img…as newly-elected Mayors, Deputy Mayors across 9 towns sworn inAs Government moves ahead with plans to establish municipalities across the Regions, the newly- elected Mayors and their deputies were on Wednesday sworn in before President David Granger at State House.The event saw Guyana’s nine Mayors and eight of nine Deputy Mayors being appointed to their posts for the nation’s nine towns.The simple ceremony sealed the Georgetown Mayor & City Council’s re-election of A Partnership for National Unity member Patricia Chase Green as Mayor andYoung politician Maxine Welch re-appointed as Deputy Mayor of LethemAkeem Peter as her deputy, replacing the Alliance For Change’s Lionel Jaikarran who had held the post after Sherrod Duncan opted against re-election. The ceremony also saw former Linden Mayor Carwyn Holland’s replacement, Waneka Arrindell, being sworn in to lead the mining town.President David Granger reiterated that the appointment of the Mayors and their deputies was in line with plans to ensure that local democratic organs were upheld, saying that the advances in establishing capital towns would lead to universal access to public services.“Town Councils, therefore, must retool the administrative systems in order to become the engines of enterprise, employment, and of economic development.From left: Georgetown Mayor Patricia Chase Green, New Amsterdam Mayor Winifred Haywood, Corriverton Mayor Krisha Jaichand, Linden Mayor Waneka Arrindell, Rose Hall Mayor Vijai Ramroop and Anna Regina Mayor Rabindranauth MohanRegional Councillors regardless of their political affiliation must work collectively for the common good of the municipalities and their regions,” the Head of State observed.Other Mayors appointed were Winifred Haywood of New Amsterdam, Krishna Jaichand of Corriverton, Vijai Ramroop of Rose Hall, Rabindranauth Mohan of Anna Regina, Bartica Mayor Gifford Marshall, Lethem Mayor Terry Jervis of Lethem and Henry Smith as Mayor of Mabaruma. Some of the Deputy Mayors are: Akeem Peter – Georgetown; Compton Grant – New Amsterdam; Wainewright Bethune – Linden; Dave Budhu – Rose Hall; Darshan Persaud – Anna Regina; Nageshwari Lochanpersaud – Bartica and Maxine Welsh – Lethem.last_img read more

Recent Comments